National Book Critics Circle Award Finalists Announced


Earlier this week, the names of five finalists for the National Book Critics Circle Award in poetry were revealed.

Saeed Jones’s debut collection Prelude to Bruise, published by Coffee House Press and one of Coldfront‘s Top 40 Books of Poetry in 2014, is a finalist along with Christian Wiman’s Once in the West, Willie Perdomo’s The Essential Hits of Shorty Bon Bon, Jake Adam York’s Abide and Claudia Rankine’s Citizen: An American Lyric. 

Rankine’s book was also a finalist for the National Book Award, though the prize went to Louise Glück. Rankine is the only woman on the list, though her book is also a finalist in the criticism category. According to The New York Times, this is the first time in the prize’s history that a single title has been nominated in two separate categories.

Read more here.