National Book Foundation Reveals Poetry Longlist

national book foundation

The National Book Foundation has announced its longlist of finalists for the 2014 National Book Award in poetry. The list is made up of five women and five men. Here’s the breakdown:

Linda Bierds’s Roget’s Illusion published by G.P. Putnam’s Sons/Penguin Group

Louise Glück’s Faithful and Virtuous Night published by Farrar, Straus and Giroux

Fanny Howe’s Second Childhood published by Graywolf Press

Maureen McLane’s This Blue published by Farrar, Straus and Giroux

Claudia Rankine’s Citizen: An American Lyric published by Graywolf Press

Brian Blanchfield’s A Several World published by Nightboat Books

Edward Hirsch’s Gabriel: A Poem published by Alfred A. Knopf/Random House

Fred Moten’s The Feel Trio published by Letter Machine Editions

Spencer Reece’s The Road to Emmaus published by Farrar, Straus and Giroux

Mark Strand’s Collected Poems published by Alfred A. Knopf/Random House

This year’s judges for poetry are Eileen Myles, Katie Peterson, Rowan Ricardo Phillips, Robert Polito and Paisley Rekdal, all of whom, with the exception of Rekdal, will be reading at the KGB Monday Night Poetry Series on November 17th. According to a press release issued by the  National Book Foundation, the finalists for the National Book Award in poetry will be announced on October 15th.